Biographie

Slide
Geboren im Jahr 2000 in Tbilisi, Georgien, erlernte Giorgi Gigashvili das Klavierspiel ohne je an eine professionelle Karriere als Pianist zu denken. Seine Leidenschaft galt vielmehr dem Singen und Arrangieren von georgischen Volksliedern und Popsongs. Er nahm sogar an der georgischen Sendung „The Voice“ teil und gewann den Wettbewerb im Alter von dreizehn Jahren! Trotzdem setzte er seine formale musikalische Ausbildung an der Zentralen Paliashvili-Musikschule für begabte Kinder und schließlich am Staatlichen Konservatorium von Tbilisi unter Revaz Tavadze fort.
Slide
Damals wie heute ist Giorgis größtes Vorbild und Idol Martha Argerich. Der Wendepunkt in seiner Pianistenkarriere kam im April 2019, als er beim Internationalen Klavierwettbewerb von Vigo den 1. Preis gewann. Martha Argerich war dort die Juryvorsitzende, an ihrer Seite Nelson Freire. Einige Monate später gewann er zudem den 3. Preis und den Publikumspreis beim 62. Busoni-Klavierwettbewerb in Bozen.
Slide
Aufgrund des Ausbruchs der Corona-Pandemie musste Giorgi längere Zeit in Georgien verbringen, wo er die Zeit mit dem Komponieren von elektronischer Musik und Liedern verbrachte, die äußerst populär wurden.
Slide
Seine Leidenschaft für das Klavier wurde 2021 wieder entfacht, als er den Hortense Anda-Bührle Förderpreis beim 15. Concours Géza Anda in Zürich erhielt; es folgte eine Einladung zum Kissinger „KlavierOlymp“, wo er den 1. Preis und den Publikumspreis gewann. Im März 2023 feierte Giorgi einen weiteren großen Erfolg: Er gewann den 2. Preis bei der Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition und wurde zusätzlich mit dem Junior Jury Preis, dem Preis für die beste Kammermusik und mit 5 von 6 Publikumspreisen bedacht.
Slide
Sein Debütalbum "Meeting my Shadow" wurde im April 2023 bei Alpha Classics veröffentlicht. Die CD wurde seit ihrem Erscheinen hoch gelobt: Sie zeigt seine ganze Farbpalette – Scarlatti, Beethoven, Skrjabin und Messiaen.

Seit Herbst 2023 studiert Giorgi Gigashvili bei Kirill Gerstein an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin; davor studierte er zwei Jahre lang bei Nelson Goerner in Genf. Er wird von der Lisa Batiashvili Foundation und von der Géza Anda Stiftunggefördert. In der Spielzeit 2022/23 ist er Künstler im Classeek Botschafter-Programm und seit 2023 bekommt er Unterstützung von der stARTacademy von Bayer Kultur. Neben seiner Karriere als klassischer Pianist hat er mit seinen Freund:innen eine elektronische und experimentelle Band gegründet, Tsduneba, was auf Georgisch „Versuchung“ bedeutet.
previous arrow
next arrow

Geboren im Jahr 2000 in Tbilisi, Georgien, erlernte Giorgi Gigashvili das Klavierspiel ohne je an eine professionelle Karriere als Pianist zu denken. Seine Leidenschaft galt vielmehr dem Singen und Arrangieren von georgischen Volksliedern und Popsongs, mit denen er als Zwölfjähriger erfolgreich in verschiedenen lokalen Gesangswettbewerben auftrat. Trotzdem setzte er daneben seine formale musikalische Ausbildung an der Zentralen Paliashvili-Musikschule für begabte Kinder und schliesslich am Staatlichen Konservatorium von Tbilisi unter Revaz Tavadze fort.

Alle haben ein Idol – und für Giorgi war es schon immer Martha Argerich. Der Wendepunkt in seiner Pianistenkarriere kam im April 2019, als er beim Internationalen Klavierwettbewerb von Vigo den 1. Preis gewann. Martha Argerich war dort die Juryvorsitzende, und an ihrer Seite Nelson Freire. Einige Monate später gewann er zudem den 3. Preis und den Publikumspreis beim 62. Busoni-Klavierwettbewerb in Bozen.

Aufgrund des Ausbruchs der Corona-Pandemie musste Giorgi längere Zeit in Georgien verbringen, wo er die Zeit mit dem Komponieren von elektronischer Musik und Liedern verbrachte, die äusserst populär wurden.

Sa flamme pour le piano est ravivée en 2021, lorsqu’il reçoit le prix d’encouragement « Hortense Anda-Bührle » de la 15ème édition du Concours Géza Anda à Zurich, suivi d’une invitation à participer au « KlavierOlymp » à Bad Kissingen, où il remporte le 1er prix ainsi que le prix du public.

Für seine Studien in Genf wird Giorgi von Martha Argerich unterstützt, des weiteren fördern ihn die Lisa Batiashvili Foundation und die Géza Anda-Stiftung.

Konzerte

15. Februar 2024
13:00 Uhr
Bristol BS1 5RR, United Kingdom
Giorgi Gigashvili
Frédéric Chopin: Ballade Nr. 4 f-Moll op. 52
Johann Sebastian Bach: Partita für Klavier Nr. 6 e-Moll BWV 830
Dmitri Schostakowitsch: Sonate für Klavier h-Moll Nr. 2 op. 61
13. März 2024
20:00 Uhr
Stuttgart, Germany
Giorgi Gigashvili
Johann Sebastian Bach: Partita für Klavier Nr. 6 e-Moll BWV 830
Maurice Ravel: Sonatine
Galina Ustwolskaya: Sonate für Klavier Nr. 6
Dmitri Schostakowitsch: Sonate für Klavier h-Moll Nr. 2 op. 61
Dmitri Schostakowitsch: Präludien und Fugen op. 87
20. März 2024
20:00 Uhr
Giorgi Gigashvili, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider
Johannes Brahms: Konzert für Klavier Nr. 1 d-Moll op. 15
21. März 2024
22:00 Uhr
Giorgi Gigashvili, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider
Johannes Brahms: Konzert für Klavier Nr. 1 d-Moll op. 15
31. März 2024
19:00 Uhr
Theatre Hall
Ruse, Bulgaria
Giorgi Gigashvili, Ruse Philharmonic, Dimitar Kosev
Johannes Brahms: Konzert für Klavier Nr. 1 d-Moll op. 15
12. April 2024
20:00 Uhr
Olpe, Germany
Giorgi Gigashvili
Domenico Scarlatti: Sonate C-Dur K487
Domenico Scarlatti: Sonate D-Dur K29
Ludwig van Beethoven: 15 Variationen Es-Dur op. 35 "Eroica Variationen"
Johannes Brahms: Drei Intermezzi op. 117
Frédéric Chopin: Ballade Nr. 4 f-Moll op. 52
Robert Schumann: Klaviersonate Nr. 1 fis-Moll op. 11
3. Mai 2024
20:00 Uhr
Konzerthaus Dortmund
Dortmund, Germany
Giorgi Gigashvili
19. Mai 2024
11:30 Uhr
Wigmore Hall
London, United Kingdom
Giorgi Gigashvili
25. Mai 2024
19:00 Uhr
Bayer Erholungshaus
Leverkusen, Germany
Giorgi Gigashvili
9. Juli 2024
20:00 Uhr
Ernen, Switzerland
Giorgi Gigashvili
Domenico Scarlatti: Sonate C-Dur K487
Domenico Scarlatti: Sonate D-Dur K29
Domenico Scarlatti: Sonate A-Dur K113
Johannes Brahms: Drei Intermezzi op. 117
Josef Bardanashvili: Postlude
Frédéric Chopin: Ballade Nr. 4 f-Moll op. 52
Sergei Prokofiev: Sonate für Klavier Nr. 7 B-Dur op. 83

Videos

Domenico Scarlatti: Sonata in D Major, K. 29'

April 2023

17th Arthur Rubinstein Competition - Stage I

March 2023

17th Arthur Rubinstein Competition - Stage II

March 2023

17th Arthur Rubinstein Competition - Winner's concert

March 2023

Biography

Slide
Born in Tbilisi, Georgia, in 2000, Giorgi studied the piano without ever thinking about a professional career as a pianist. He is passionate about the folksongs of his country, which he likes to arrange and sing. He even participated in the Georgian ‘The Voice’ and won the competition at the age of thirteen! However, he continued his musical training at the Paliashvili Central Music School for Gifted Children and entered the Tbilisi State Conservatory, in the class of Revaz Tavadze.
Slide
At that time, as is still the case today, his supreme model and idol was Martha Argerich. Giorgi’s pianistic career took a decisive turn in April 2019 when he won First Prize at the Vigo International Piano Competition, with Martha as president of the jury and Nelson Freire at her side. A few months later, Giorgi won Third Prize and the Audience Prize at the Sixty-Second Busoni Competition.
Slide
The pandemic forced him to remain locked down in Georgia, where he began to write electronic music and songs that became very popular.
Slide
His passion for the piano was rekindled in 2021, when he received the Hortense Anda- Bührle Special Prize at the Fifteenth Géza Anda Piano Competition in Zurich; this was followed by an invitation to take part in the KlavierOlymp in Bad Kissingen, where he won First Prize and the Audience Prize. In March 2023, Giorgi celebrated another great success: He won the 2nd Prize at the Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition and was also awarded the Junior Jury Prize, the Prize for the best chamber music and 5 out of 6 audience prizes.
Slide
His debut album “Meeting my Shadow” was released in April 2023 with Alpha Classics. The CD has been highly acclaimed since its release: It reveals his full palette of colours; featuring Scarlatti, Beethoven, Scriabin and Messiaen.

Since autumn 2023, Giorgi has been studying with Kirill Gerstein at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin; before, he studied with Nelson Goerner in Geneva for 2 years. He is supported by the Lisa Batiashvili Foundation and the Géza Anda-Foundation. In the 2022/23 season he is a Classeek Ambassador artist. He is supported by Bayer Kultur’s stARTacademy since 2023. Alongside his career as a classical pianist, he has created with his friends an electronic and experimental music group, Tsduneba, which means ‘temptation’ in Georgian.
previous arrow
next arrow

Born in Tbilisi, Georgia in 2000, Giorgi took his first piano lessons without ever thinking about becoming a professional pianist. Passionate about singing and arranging Georgian folk and pop songs, he successfully competed in various Georgian singing contests at the age of 12. He did however continue his formal musical training at the Paliashvili Central Music School for Gifted Children and at the Tbilisi State Conservatoire, under the guidance of Revaz Tavadze.

Everyone has an idol, and for Giorgi it has always been Martha Argerich. His pianistic career’s turning point came about in April 2019 when he won the 1st Prize at the Vigo International Piano Competition, where Martha Argerich chaired the jury with Nelson Freire at her side. Some months later Giorgi also won the Third Prize and the Audience Prize at the 62nd Busoni International Piano Competition.

The outbreak of the Covid19 pandemic obliged him to remain in Georgia, where he began to write electronic music and songs which have become extremely popular.

2021, on the other hand, offered a fresh stimulus for Giorgi’s other calling, the classical piano: the Hortense Anda-Bührle Bursary, awarded to him at the 15th Géza Anda Piano Competition in Zurich, brought him an invitation to the KlavierOlymp in the German town of Bad Kissingen, where he won the 1st Prize as well as the Audience Prize. At the same time, he joined Nelson Goerner’s class at the Geneva University of Music.

Giorgi is supported by Martha Argerich for his studies in Geneva, by the Lisa Batiashvili Foundation and the Géza Anda-Foundation.

Concerts

August 16, 2024
07:00 pm
Nossentin (bei Silz), Germany
Giorgi Gigashvili
September 6, 2024
07:30 pm
Giorgi Gigashvili, MEUTE, Streichquartett des Ensemble Resonanz, Kammerakademie Potsdam, Luisa Neubauer, Elim Chan
September 12, 2024
07:30 pm
Bonn, Germany
Giorgi Gigashvili, Nikala Zubiashvili
September 15, 2024
07:30 pm
Bonn, Germany
Giorgi Gigashvili, ensemble reflektor, Nikala Zubiashvili
October 12, 2024
05:00 pm
Bremen, Germany
Giorgi Gigashvili, Tjasha Gafner, Guido Sant’Anna, Rafael Adobas Bayog, Ensemble Resonanz, Bas Wiegers
November 11, 2024
07:30 pm
München, Germany
Giorgi Gigashvili, Münchner Symphoniker
January 23, 2025
07:30 pm
Manchester, United Kingdom
Giorgi Gigashvili, Roderick Cox, Hallé-Orchester
January 25, 2025
01:00 pm
Manchester, United Kingdom
Giorgi Gigashvili, Hallé wind players
January 26, 2025
04:00 pm
Manchester, United Kingdom
Giorgi Gigashvili, Roderick Cox, Hallé-Orchester

Videos

Domenico Scarlatti: Sonata in D Major, K. 29'

April 2023

17th Arthur Rubinstein Competition - Stage I

March 2023

17th Arthur Rubinstein Competition - Stage II

March 2023

17th Arthur Rubinstein Competition - Winner's concert

March 2023